The Miami Hurricanes were coming off Dennis Erickson’s second national championship in 1992 — and very nearly won a third.

UM entered the preseason ranked No. 1 and never fell farther than second in the polls during another undefeated regular season. The Hurricanes won another “wide right” showdown against third-ranked Florida State and also earned two Top 10 road wins at Penn State and Syracuse. Quarterback Gino Torretta won the Heisman Trophy and Miami entered the Sugar Bowl against Alabama as prohibitive favorites to claim another national title. The team featured nine players who would be selected in the NFL Draft later that year and also featured a young redshirt freshman named Warren Sapp (below).

But the Crimson Tide turned the tables, rolling to a 34-13 win in New Orleans. Miami wouldn’t return to a national championship game until 2001.